Tuesday, May 25, 2010

DB2 spatial extender chat on May 27

There's an upcoming DB2 Chat with the Lab on Thursday May 27:
Leveraging Spatial Capabilities in your Database

Date: Thursday May 27, 2010
Time: 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM Eastern (GMT-04:00)
10:30 AM Central / 8:30 AM Pacific / 16:30 hrs London / 17:30 hrs Frankfurt, Paris / India 9PM
Presented By: Sal Vella (IBM), David Adler (IBM)

This chat introduces the spatial capabilities of IBM relational databases, focusing on the DB2 LUW Spatial Extender. Much of the business data that we work with has a spatial characteristic, such as customer or office locations, sales regions, hazard polygons or facilities such as utility lines and highways. By representing this spatial information in a relational table as spatial datatypes, SQL queries can incorporate spatial functions to perform spatial analysis in the database. Business value is derived by being able to answer questions like:
  • Where are customers who may be interested in buying flood insurance?
  • What are the patterns of high crime activity?
  • Should a new service center be constructed to support new customers?
  • Where are preferred service providers along a route I plan to take?
DB2 with the Spatial Extender is used to answer these questions.
Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Google Analytics Alternative