Thursday, December 10, 2009

Getting Started with Data Studio for DB2

Getting Started with Data Studio for DB2 is a new book available for free download.

Data Studio is a tool for administering DB2 and IDS databases. There is Data Studio Standalone, which allows both for administration and for development of SQL/XQuery scripts and procedures. There is also Data Studio IDE, which includes all that and adds the ability to develop Java stored procedures and web services.

The book is a follow up on Getting Started with DB2 Express-C.

Feel free to grab the new DB2 Express-C 9.7.1 and give it all a try.

Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team

Thursday, December 03, 2009

Free DB2 vs SQL Server + Cloud

There is an upcoming episode of the DB2Night Show that will contrast DB2 Express-C with Microsoft SQL Server as well as touch on the Cloud, Oracle, MySQL, and other subjects:
The DB2Night Show Episode #7- 4 Dec 2009 - SQL Server vs. DB2

Secure your seat in our virtual real-time studio audience as we take a look at SQL Server Express versus DB2 Express-C. Our special guest will be Leon Katsnelson from IBM. If you have responsibility for SQL Server and DB2, or want to know the differences, or are looking at low cost commodity hardware database options, you won't want to miss this show!

The DB2Night Show has a Twitter account - please follow twitter.com/db2nightshow for the latest news about new episodes and interactive discussion. Use the hash tag #DB2Night in your Tweets.

We hope you will join us and participate as a guest or via twitter.com/db2nightshow. The more people we have involved during the recording of the show, the more fun we'll have. One studio audience member will be randomly selected to win an Amazon.com gift certificate - just in time for the holidays!

Friday December 4th
11am Eastern, 10am Central, 9am Mountain, 8am Pacific

Register
Regards,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team

Tuesday, December 01, 2009

Get DB2 Express-C 9.7.1 now

The 9.7.1 refresh of the DB2 Express-C free database server is now available:
What's new

There are many new fixes and features including:
- OUT and INOUT parameters for user-defined functions
- Global variable assignment in nested contexts
- Enhanced diagnostics and logging
- Progress indicators for RUNSTATS and reorg of tables and indexes
- Transparent LDAP on Linux and Solaris
- Improved .NET integration
- Many other improvements

Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team
Google Analytics Alternative