Monday, August 30, 2010

pureScale chat on Tuesday August 31

There's an upcoming chat with the lab tomorrow:
DB2 pureScale - Always-on, Elastic Database Cluster

Date: Tue, August 31, 2010
Time: 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM Eastern (GMT-04:00)
10:30 AM Central / 8:30 AM Pacific / 16:30hrs London / 17:30hrs Frankfurt, Paris / India 9 PM

Last year IBM released DB2 pureScale, an integrated database cluster solution that provides continuous data availability, virtually unlimited capacity, elastic scalability, and all this with easy setup and management but without requiring any applications changes. IBM has recently updated DB2 pureScale and announced that it will now also be available to run on Intel-based commodity hardware and Linux. In this webcast we will cover various DB2 pureScale related topics including: architecture, benefits, demos, experiences, and getting started.

To learn more and get your questions answered, join Sal Vella (VP, Development), and Drew Bradstock (Product Manager) on Tuesday August 31, 2010 at 11:30 AM Eastern.
Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team

ChannelDB2 surpasses 3000+ members

The membership of ChannelDB2 now exceeds 3000 members, of whom over 60 joined in the past week. The site is designed to help DB2 professionals share fun and instructional videos, blogs, and discussions.

The other great thing about ChannelDB2 is that you already know someone who's a member. I personally help out there with the moderation and the endless internet battle with spam bots.
Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

ChannelDB2, now with Finnish drinking songs

ChannelDB2 is a free resource for the DB2 community. It has instructional videos, several blogs, groups with shared interests, and various social networking features to help DB2 professionals to connect.

It's also the number one destination when you are looking for Finnish drinking songs that just happen to be compatible with IBM Business Conduct Guidelines:


I might be speaking for myself, but I'd love to hear more of those.
Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team

Monday, August 09, 2010

Tuning DB2 system performance chat on Aug 12

Readers in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan, there's an upcoming chat on August 12:
Tuning and Monitoring DB2 System Performance 
August 12 @ 10:00 AM China Standard Time (GMT+0800)
August 11 @ 10:00 PM Toronto Time
Speakers:    Sal Vella - VP, Guiyun Cao - one of the key IBM DB2 performance analysts
Host:     Frank Ning

In this chat, Guiyun Cao from the IBM Canada Lab will share some best practices about tuning and monitoring of DB2 system performance. He will talk about determining, addressing the system bottlenecks and some best practices for DB2 performance.

Guiyun Cao has been with IBM more than 10 years specializing in DB2 performance, in particular with SAP and DB2 performance. He is one of the key performance analysts to serve IBM customers for their business success.
Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Express-C Community Team
Google Analytics Alternative