Thursday, March 17, 2011

DB2 chat for Oracle professionals defies signup limits

On March 31, we'll be holding a DB2 Chat with the Lab aimed specifically at Oracle professionals curious about DB2 database server architecture. As you know, IBM DB2 9.7 introduced a thorough Oracle compatibility mode.

Almost immediately after we announced it, the event filled up completely. More people signed up than the webcast infrastructure allowed, and many had to be turned away.

To handle the extreme level of demand, we've now set up a parallel signup link:
DB2 and Oracle - An Architectural Comparison

Date: Thursday, March 31, 2011
Time: 12:30-2:00 PM Eastern / 11:30 AM Central / 9:30 AM Pacific / 17:30hrs London / 18:30hrs Frankfurt, Paris / India 10 PM

Many database professionals and DBAs often ask how DB2 and Oracle compare architecturally, that is, how they are different and similar at their core. They also ask what are the equivalent concepts, names, commands etc. in the other database system. This free webinar will answer those questions by covering the following topics in detail:

  • Server architecture comparison (e.g. instances and database model, process vs. thread)
  • Memory architecture comparison (e.g. Oracle SGA & PGA vs. DB2 instance, database and application memory)
  • Parameters, environment variables and registry variables
  • Database storage model comparison (e.g. table space types and layouts, compression approaches)
  • Basic database administration comparison (e.g. terminology, create database, start/stop, dictionary vs. system catalog, performance)
  • Compatibility mode for running Oracle applications with DB2

Attending this webcast would be valuable for you whether you are an Oracle professional and looking to learn more about DB2 (for Linux, Unix and Windows), or work in a heterogeneous environment and looking to expand your DBMS knowledge, or simply interested in enhancing your database skills for improving your career prospects.
Cheers,

Leons Petrazickis
DB2 Community Team

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Google Analytics Alternative